Read Faust by Robert Nye Free Online

Ebook Faust by Robert Nye read! Book Title: Faust
The author of the book: Robert Nye
Date of issue: March 1st 1981
ISBN: 0399126066
ISBN 13: 9780399126062
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 764 KB
Edition: Putnam Publishing Group

Read full description of the books Faust:

This book has a similar quality to John Barth's CHIMERA, but Nye's novel is a much easier, faster read, more coherent, and oddly compelling despite it's sometimes heavy-handed post-modernism and late 70's yen for excessive sex and body fluid references. The characters are all bizarre and grotesque, like a Goya or Dali painting come to life, the plot of virtually non-existant, and the narrator- not Faust but Wagner, his assistant, is fairly unlikable, but Nye's style, his wit, and little moments of wisdom and human poignancy keep you turning the page till the final enigmatic ending. A worthwhile read if you're into the Faust legend and/or enjoy experimental fiction.

Read Ebooks by Robert Nye

Read information about the author

Ebook Faust read Online! Robert Nye was an English writer, playwright and poet.

Nye started writing stories for children to entertain his three young sons. Nye published his first adult novel, Doubtfire, in 1967.

Nye's next publication after Doubtfire was a return to children's literature, a freewheeling version of Beowulf which has remained in print in many editions since 1968. In 1970, he published another children's book, Wishing Gold, and received the James Kennaway Memorial Award for his collection of short stories, Tales I Told My Mother (1969).

During the early 1970s Nye wrote several plays for BBC radio including “A Bloody Stupit Hole” (1970), “Reynolds, Reynolds” (1971), and a version of Penthesilea by Heinrich von Kleist (1971). He was also commissioned by Covent Garden to write an unpublished libretto for Harrison Birtwistle's opera, Kronia (1970). Nye held the position of writer in residence at the University of Edinburgh, 1976-1977, during which time he received the Guardian fiction prize, followed by the 1976 Hawthornden Prize for his novel Falstaff.

He has continued to write poetry, publishing Darker Ends (1969) and Divisions on a Ground (1976), and to prepare editions of other poets with whose work he feels an affinity: Sir Walter Ralegh, William Barnes, and Laura Riding. His own Collected Poems appeared in 1995, and remains in print. His selected poems, entitled The Rain and The Glass, published in 2005, won the Cholmondeley Award. He has lived since 1977 in County Cork, Ireland. Although his novels have won prizes and been translated into many languages, it is as a poet that he would probably prefer to be remembered. The critic Gabriel Josipovici has described him as "one of the most interesting poets writing today, with a voice unlike that of any of his contemporaries."

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to Faust

Read EBOOK Faust by Robert Nye Online free

Download PDF: faust.pdf Faust PDF