Read The Other Shore: Plays by Gao Xingjian Free Online

Ebook The Other Shore: Plays by Gao Xingjian read! Book Title: The Other Shore: Plays
The author of the book: Gao Xingjian
Date of issue: January 21st 2000
ISBN: 9622018629
ISBN 13: 9789622018624
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 22.91 MB
Edition: Chinese University Press

Read full description of the books The Other Shore: Plays:

When Gao Xingjian won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2000, he became the only Chinese writer to achieve such international acclaim. The Chinese University Press is the first publisher of his work in the English language. Indeed, The Other Shore is one of the few works by the author available in English today. The Other Shore: Plays by Gao Xingjian contains five of Gao's most recent works: The Other Shore (1986), Between Life and Death (1991), Dialogue and Rebuttal (1992), Nocturnal Wanderer (1993), and Weekend Quartet (1995). With original imagery and in beautiful language, these plays illuminate the realities of life, death, sex, loneliness, and exile. The plays also show the dramatist's idea of the tripartite actor, a process by which the actor neutralizes himself and achieves a disinterested observation of his self in performance. An introduction by the translator describes the dramatist and his view on drama.

Read Ebooks by Gao Xingjian

Read information about the author

Ebook The Other Shore: Plays read Online! Gao Xingjian is a Chinese-born novelist, playwright, critic, and painter. An émigré to France since 1987, Gao was granted French citizenship in 1997. The recipient of the 2000 Nobel Prize in Literature, he is also a noted translator (particularly of Samuel Beckett and Eugène Ionesco), screenwriter, stage director, and a celebrated painter.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to The Other Shore: Plays

Read EBOOK The Other Shore: Plays by Gao Xingjian Online free

Download PDF: the-other-shore-plays.pdf The Other Shore: Plays PDF